Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_7842 - 2013-01-01 at 10-34-03

DSC_7871 - 2013-01-01 at 10-35-48

DSC_7893 - 2013-01-01 at 10-39-09

There are several pairs of Eastern Bluebirds that live here all year-long.  Yesterday was a very dreary cold rainy day.  I was cheered to see the Bluebirds out and about hunting for bugs in the grass and also just perched in one of the pond-side Oaks.  The Eastern Bluebirds are lovely!  These birds are bright blue on their backs, and light orange and buff on their undersides.  They are intelligent and pleasant, if shy of people.  I took these pictures from my covered porch.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture in the gallery.  As always, enjoy!

DSC_8057 - 2013-01-01 at 11-30-07DSC_8050 - 2013-01-01 at 11-29-01DSC_7995 - 2013-01-01 at 11-22-08

Comments on: "Pretty Bluebirds in the Rain" (10)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    i love that they stick around during winter to brighten up the gray days.

  2. Hi Linda, With your ‘new’ eyes, you are probably seeing more birds than ever before. That is awesome…. Woooo—what weather we are having… It’s so cold and dreary today… I’m either ready for a big snow –or some sunshine… ha

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, I agree! The weather is bleak and cold. So happy to have colorful birds and ducks around. Have a really nice day tomorrow and thanks for your faithful and nice comments!

  3. Good pictures, with the splash of brilliant blue in the yard!!!

  4. I just love your bluebirds. Great shots. I am not seeing them in my yard lately, but they are just around the corner from me.

  5. They surely are pretty, and they really brighten things up!

    • Hi Montucky, I also like the Western Bluebirds that I saw when I was last out West, too! So, you and I both have beautiful Bluebirds to see in our respective locales. Have a super nice day tomorrow and thanks for all of your fine comments!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

