Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

The Canada Geese are now parents!  Our community lake is home to a small flock of Canada Geese that are year around residents.  I enjoy seeing the groups of Geese paddle gracefully by or take flight to travel to another nearby lake.  The Geese are not too noisy except when very upset or when traveling.  I just was thrilled to see Mama, Papa, and five goslings all in a row (pecking order is important to waterfowl) paddling across the lake last evening at twilight.  It was the first time I had seen any goslings at all.  They are quite big but seem happy and good paddlers.  Soon they will be out on their own.  It is very hard to determine which are males or females as the Canada Geese all pretty much look similar to each other.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger version of that photo.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "The Canada Goslings Have Arrived" (2)

  1. Hi Linda, I seldom get down to your lake–but I enjoy seeing the Canada Geese and their babies at Mirror Lake (near the little mall)…. Great pictures.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  2. Those photos are so cute! I love seeing the goslings.

Leave a comment