Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

The American Robin is a wonderful medium-sized bird that is a grey-brown color with a rusty orange-colored chest.  The American Robin has a medium-sized yellow beak.  One distinctive feature about the American Robin is the white circular marking around the eyes.  The female looks quite a lot like the male but is very slightly duller in color, particularly on its rusty orange chest.  The American Robin is not the same bird as the one in England or in Europe and is not a true Robin, but is a member of the Thrush family of birds.  The American Robin eats insects and loves to hunt on lawns for tasty worms and grubs.  It’s been my experience that the American Robins make their well-crafted sturdy nests in medium-sized trees.  The American Robins are known as good parents.

The American Robins are here in my area all year but have mostly been in other areas of the community this winter.  I mostly though only see about two to three at a time hunting on my front lawn and about the same in the backyard on the forest floor.  I really love seeing these cheery colorful birds!  Please click on the thumbnail version to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "American Robins Have Arrived in the Neighborhood" (6)

  1. Hi Linda, I have two Robins (male and female) which have been coming to my feeders REGULARLY for a few months…They like the suet. Surprises me since they are usually ground feeders… Hope they bring their ‘babies’ to the feeders once (if) they have any….

    I’ve got a funny Robin picture in my Monday’s blog…
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  2. They are good subjects for pictures, as the oes around here are very tame, won’t run away, and will stand still long enough to let me focus.

    • Hi Ginny, I went out on my balcony and stood over an American Robin that was on the ground about 12 feet below where I was, and the bird saw me, looked up, and just went on about its browsing the ground for food. I agree that these birds are very easy to photograph. Have a great evening!

  3. Very nice photos! We have had a few robins so far, but I think only ones that are heading farther north. The ones that stay and nest here in summer haven’t arrived yet. Sure good to see them again!

    • Hi Montucky, I must be feeding ’em right – these are the biggest American Robins I have ever seen! Just kidding, of course. I am very glad you have some of the American Robins where you live. Have an excellent Monday tomorrow!

Leave a comment