Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Well, I did take these pictures on a Tuesday but that’s OK.  Yesterday the pair of Northern Yellow-shafted Flickers came back to the yard.  They were perched in the same big Oak that they had been in the last time they were here a few days ago.  My pictures of the birds in the trees were not great (very dark).  I did get some good pictures of the male bird while it was on the ground poking around in the turf for grubs or earthworms.  I had been trying to take pictures of the waterfowl when I noticed that one of the flickers had flown to the ground just about ten feet in front of me.  I had to be very stealthy and still but managed to take a few clear pictures.

Northern Yellow-shafted Flickers are some of the larger woodpeckers.  They have very long tail feathers with bright yellow shafts.  They have a beige body with lots of black spots.  Both genders have a small patch of red on the crown of their heads but the female does not have a mustache marking on its chin.  These birds mainly eat insects but occasionally eat seeds nuts and bits of fruit.  They like to eat on the ground which is a lot different from most of the other woodpeckers.  I love seeing woodpeckers!  I took these pictures in my yard yesterday afternoon.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photograph.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "It’s a Woodpecker Wednesday!" (10)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    such incredibly handsome birds!

    • Hi TexWisGirl, Yes, they are beautiful and rather exotic-looking. I was really pleased to have “sneaked” up on this bird which is why I got clear pictures of that one on the ground. Have an excellent evening!

  2. Love the Flickers, Linda … We have them here and I enjoy watching them at the suet feeder… You captured some great pictures of them.

    Cold there too????? It was 28 this morning when we went to the grocery store… Brrrrrrr.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Yes, very cold – similar to that felt in your neighborhood. I hope it warms up a bit. The Flickers are interesting woodpeckers and great to watch. Have an excellent day tomorrow!

  3. You got some really good pictures of them! It is a bit easier to snap Flickers because they have to come to the ground to eat. They are so pretty in flight!

  4. Prettiest of the woodpeckers! I’ve seen several around here, but not today. We’re getting pretty heavy snow now, which is a good thing, but they will stay sheltered until it quite I think.

  5. I love seeing the Flickers, they are beautiful birds. Great shots!

  6. I enjoy seeing the flickers and woodpeckers that visit us! Nice photos!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

