Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Great Blue Herons

While I was taking pictures of the ducks at the pond the other day, I spotted a Great Blue Heron flying in.  When the big bird touched down on the shoreline, it immediately took off again.  I soon saw why – there was another Great Blue Heron at the pond.  The chase was on.  I think it was over territory but it also could have been over food.  The first heron has a bit of food in its bill. The Great Blue Herons live in a nearby rookery or nesting area high in the trees near the small private community lake that is in the general neighborhood where I live.  Herons eat fish, frogs, crayfish, turtles, aquatic insects and sometimes small rodents.  They a keen hunters.  There usually is only a single heron here on the pond.  This is the third time I have seen two herons here at the same time.  I took these pictures in my yard on Jan. 13, 2012 and on Jan. 17, 2012.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Great Blue Herons" (7)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    they are extremely territorial, aren’t they? seems silly to fight for feeding territory when there’s plenty, but i guess it soon becomes breeding territory, too.

  2. They are such an impressive bird to see!

  3. Isn’t it fun to watch the birds —especially when they are protecting their territory…. Great pictures, Linda.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  4. They are truly wonderful birds. I really like your shot of the two of them in flight!

  5. I’m always impressed by your heron photos. I have found them to be such shy birds–they disapear as soon as I catch sight of them.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

