Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Eurasian Collard Dove?

I saw what I believe to be a Eurasian Collard Dove here in one of the Oaks next to the little pond two days ago.  I looked out my living room window and saw a pinkish bird way up in the tree branches.  From the shape of the bird, I immediately knew that the bird was a dove.  I had never seen a Eurasian Collard Dove before.  The main difference between the more common Mourning Dove and this Eurasian Collard Dove is that this dove has a pink tinge to the head and chest that the other dove does not have.  The bird is medium-sized, light grey and pink, and has a faint ring around its neck that is hard to see.

Like most doves, this one eats seeds, nuts, and fruits.  The Eurasian Collard Doves live primarily in the Southern U.S.A.  Apparently these doves had been released into the wild  in the Bahamas in the 1970’s and have spread to the Southeastern U.S.A..  They are becoming more established here in TN now.   I only saw this single bird here but I did see another similar dove up the road a few miles away when out driving.  I have only seen a dove here twice.  The last time was way back around Halloween (end of October).  This dove is likely a Eurasian Collard Dove but I am not  absolutely sure.  I can tell you, this bird did not look like most Mourning Doves I have seen.  It looked very pink – almost like it was luminously shining.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "A Eurasian Collard Dove?" (8)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    we will see them here a few times during the year. i think they’re so beautiful!

    • Hi TexWisGirl, How exciting that you also get to see these lovely birds. This one was a first for me. Interesting how the birds came to be present here in the U.S.A. Have a great Saturday!

  2. That is awesome, Linda. I’ve never seen one. Now that they are in TN, I’ll have to start looking for them. We have doves here –but I’d love to see one like you saw…. NEAT!!!

    Foggy as can be up here and drizzly… The thunderstorm woke us up at 4 a.m.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. That looks like a pretty dove. It’s new to me!
    I saw some doves here today after not seeing them for some time. I think they remember where the food can be found and with the deep snow came back for a meal.

  4. Gosh, a first for you? I have never even heard of this dove! Are you keeping a life list?

  5. Agree, it is very pretty and one that I had never heard of before!

  6. I have to look them up in my field guide, I have never seen one. Great sighting of the Eurasion Collard Dove.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

