Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Eastern Meadowlarks Visit

Three Eastern Meadowlarks were perched up in one of the pond-side Oaks a few days ago.  It was one of the rare sunny and mild days here this Winter so far.  The Meadowlarks have been here on three occasions since October, 2011.  I really enjoy seeing these medium-sized light brown, bright gold, and dark brown-black birds.  The Eastern Meadowlarks tend to enjoy being in the crowns of trees while those out west do not.  Meadowlark birds eat insects primarily and have a pointed bill much like that of the European Starlings.  They root out insects and grubs in the pastures here in the area.  I took these pictures on January 24, 2012 in my yard. Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photo.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Eastern Meadowlarks Visit" (8)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    great shots! i find these birds to be very camera shy!

    • Hi TexWisGirl, Many thanks! I sometimes get lucky and see the birds while out in the yard and can easily hide behind a tree or the shed. I also sometimes just stand still and as quietly as possible snap away (this is an iffy strategy at best). I do like getting close-ups of the birds but having that long lens is a huge help! Have a great day today!

  2. I’m loving those impressive blue Heron shots below!!!! And the meadowlark, I have only seen one once or twice. Your first picture looks a bit like a flicker, I didn’t realize the similarity before. But on enlarging it, you can see that it’s not.

    • Hi Ginny, Thank you! You are most kind in your fine comments here. Yes, there sure is a similarity between the Meadowlark and the Flicker – I don’t think they are really related though but I am not a biologist and can’t truly say for certain if that is true. By the way, I just now spotted a Bald Eagle here but the bird was too far away to get good pictures. Made my afternoon though. Have a great day!

  3. The meadowlarks are pretty, but it’s their call that is so endearing. It seems strange seeing them this time of year. It will be june before we have them back here.

  4. Very pretty. I don’t think I have ever seen one….I think of them as story book birds since they are often the subjuect of poetry.

  5. I think the Meadowlarks are gorgeous birds. I love the bright yellow colors and their lovely sounds. Another great visitor to your yard. Wonderful photos.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

