Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Gadwall Ducks

A few weeks ago a couple of Gadwall ducks were here on the pond.  The Gadwall ducks were here at the same time as were the pair of Bufflehead ducks.  The Gadwall ducks are migratory visitors here in Cumberland County, Tennessee in the winter months.  These ducks are dabbling ducks like the Mallard ducks.  They lower their head into the shallow water, and use their bill to find a tasty meal of aquatic weeds, seeds, and snails.  These ducks like to explore shallow reedy, muddy areas of ponds, shallow streams, rivers and lakes.

The drakes or males, are grey with a patch of black at the tail.  Gadwalls also have a small, cream-colored area at the end of the top tail feathers, that lays over the black under-feathers  a bit.  The females are similar but are more of a mixed brown color.  I think the Gadwalls that were here were hens, but I could be wrong.  The Gadwall ducks often mix in with Mallards and other similar dabbling ducks.  I was quite happy to see these three Gadwalls here.  I took these pictures on Jan. 13, 2012 in my yard.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Gadwall Ducks" (7)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    i think their rich brown tones are beautiful. 🙂

  2. They are beautiful…and an new duck that I have never heard of before!

  3. A new bird for me! I have never heard of them!!! You are very good at identifying from a distance.

  4. The Gadwalls are pretty ducks and a wonderful visitor to your pond. Have a great day!

  5. It’s nice to see them! I don’t believe I’ve seen them myself, but they look very pretty.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

