Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Pretty Birds

House Finch

Here are a few photographs of songbirds that have visited my yards in the past week.  I so enjoy seeing birds here that have been away for a few months or weeks.  I saw a pair of House Finches, an American Robin, several Eastern Bluebirds, an Eastern Blue Jay, and a White-breasted Nuthatch.  These birds are those that are quite lovely.  That House Finch is now in its breeding plumage.  I did not see the female House Finch around but she looks much like the male but a lot more muted in color.  That is the case too, with the bluebirds.  I took all of these pictures in my yard in the last several days.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture,  Enjoy!

Eastern Bluebird

Eastern Bluebird

Eastern Blue Jay

American Robin

House Finch

White-breasted Nuthatch

Comments on: "Pretty Birds" (7)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    sure looks like spring! my bluebirds are already picking out houses here!

  2. Hi TexWisGirl, Yes, it is going to be a bright and warm day. We had a little rain with mild T storms last night – will brighten up the grass. Have a wonderful day! Happy Ground Hog Day to you, too!

  3. Wonderful collection of songbirds. I wonder what the birds are thinking with this warm weather we are having. Great photos.

  4. I do not know your email address and would love to ask you about the Sandhill Cranes being seen at the refuge in Tennessee. If they are still there, hubby and I were thinking about making a trip there to see them. I was hoping you could email me eileen3600@live.com so I could ask you some questions?

  5. Great pictures of your birdies… Wonder if yours are cousins of mine???? ha ha

    Hope you enjoyed this spring day. We got out and took a walk.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

  6. For some reason, the robin and the finch aren’t showing up. But my favorite would be the cute nuthatch, anyway!

  7. It’s always interesting to see the differences in the types of birds present there compared to the ones here this time of year. Rather like a weather graphic (or climate graphic)!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

