Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

The Beauty of Bluebirds

About six Eastern Bluebirds live here in my yards.  I don’t see them every time I am outside but I see them maybe every-other day.  The male is a short chubby bright orange and blue and creamy-white fellow.  The female is a bit more slender with the same colors but the colors are not as vibrant.  These wonderful small songbirds eat insects.  They like to hunt for insects and grubs and worms in the large pastures here.  The Eastern Bluebirds most often perch on the lower branches of the Oaks here but also love to hang out on the electric lines.  These are really attractive birds.  I so enjoy seeing them here.   I took these pictures this past week in my yards.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photo.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "The Beauty of Bluebirds" (9)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    i noticed a very bright male here this morning. breeding plumage is beginning to come forth!

    • Hi TexWisGirl, Yes, the breeding season is right around the corner. We have had a milder-than-normal winter so I fully expect to see nesting a week or two sooner than is usual. Have a wonderful day!

  2. Beautiful Colour…

    • Hi Martina, Yes, those Eastern Bluebirds are lovely and have brilliant blue feathers on their backs, head, and wings. Thanks for your comment and welcome! Have a super good day today!

  3. They are pretty and I also like their attitudes, upbeat and perky.

  4. My favorite is the bottom middle, and love the way the light is!

    • Hi Ginny, The bluebirds like to sit on the dirt piles and also on the little wooden stakes that define the area where our future garage will be built. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

  5. My favorite bird, I love the bluebirds. You are so lucky to see them in your yard. Do you have bluebird houses for them to nest? Great shots.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

