Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

There is a Great Blue Heron rookery or nesting site in my neighborhood.  The Great Blue Herons are here about every two or there days on the little farm pond.  They are wading birds that largely eat small aquatic animals, aquatic insects, snails,  and sometimes, small rodents and reptiles such as turtles.  They wade in the swampy shallow shorelines of ponds, lakes, and streams.  The Great Blue Herons also live in or near ocean marsh areas.    They are tall and large birds.  They stand between three and four feet tall.  They have a grey-blue color to their backs with a slightly buff color to the neck and undersides.  They have a powerful long slender bill.

The Great Blue Herons have long legs and don’t mind getting a bit wet when wading in the water.  They really do not swim or paddle but do occasionally walk in one to two feet of water in order to catch their dinner.  These birds fly well.  They nest in the tree-tops and prefer evergreens.  I was very happy to have taken these pictures in the last two weeks in my yard and from my driveway.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "The Majestic Great Blue Herons" (6)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    i love these magnificent birds. 🙂

    • Hi TexWisGirl, I am very happy to have a rookery nearby where these herons nest. Glad you are also able to host herons on your pond on occasion. I really admire your drawing of the Great Blue Heron on your own wonderful blog. Have a super good day today!

  2. I love seeing them too and I’m looking forward to their return here in the spring.

  3. I’m so excited for you, Linda. To have a rookery nearby is AWESOME… I’ll be watching for many more photos to come. I’m excited!!!!!

    Hugs,
    Betsy

  4. Hi Linda, it is cool to have a heron rookery near you. I think the sounds coming from a heron rookery are so neat. I enjoyed this post and your photos.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

