Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Busy Bluebirds

There is a small flock of about six Eastern Bluebirds that live here in the trees around the little farm.  I sometimes see these beautiful little blue and orange and cram-colored birds out in the grassy pastures or on the electric lines or perched in the lower limbs of one of the Oaks next to the pond here.  They are insect-eating birds so they hunt in the grass for grubs, worms or insects.  This trait will be a help to me when we have our vegetable garden in a couple of months.  I always just feel that these little birds are a bright cheerful addition to the yards!  I took these pictures in the past few days.  I took the picture of the Eastern Bluebird with the Northern Yellow-shafted Flicker yesterday afternoon.  I was a long way away from the birds so as to not disturb them.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Busy Bluebirds" (9)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    they’re going to love your tilled up earth! 🙂

    • Hi TexWisGirl, Yes, they regularly check-out the big pile of dirt that is now beside the space where our garage will be built (foundation prelims.). Have a great evening!

  2. They are so cute! It’s been over a year since I have really seen one.

  3. Hi Linda, Aren’t Bluebirds just the cutest birds in the world??? I have about 4 regulars around here.

    After the rain, it turned out to be a nice day… Felt like Spring where we were in Tullahoma today…
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Glad you had a lovely day! We are going to have a chance for snow on Sun. which won’t be bad for school kids with the holiday on Mon. We will see. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

  4. They will be even more busy fairly soon, with nesting season coming up.

  5. I love your pretty bluebirds. I have not seen any in my yard lately. I am hoping they come back to use my nesting boxes. So, please keep posting yours, I love them so.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

