Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

The Gadwall Duck on the Pond

I had seen a Gadwall Duck on the pond most days during the past few weeks.  There were small group of Gadwalls here within the past month, but I think that the other Gadwalls are on the nearby lake.  The Gadwall ducks are a lovely medium-sized grey-ish brown duck with a white patch on each of  its wing feathers.  The bill is a dark blue-brown.  These ducks have a faint line over their eyes.  Both genders pretty much  look alike.  This is a tipping duck that stretches its head and neck and tips downward in the shallow water to  pull up aquatic bulbs, grasses and weeks.  These ducks also occasionally eat insects but plants are their main diet.  I have noticed that sometimes a stray duck or two will mix-in with the other ducks, especially with a group of Mallards.  The Gadwalls are migratory visitors here.  I enjoyed seeing the Gadwall here on the little farm pond.  I took these pictures in my yard on Feb. 7, 2012, and Feb. 13, 2012.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "The Gadwall Duck on the Pond" (5)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    i only get to see them if they stop here on a migratory route. i do love their subtle colorations! very pretty ducks!

  2. They look like they are pretty ducks. I see from the Cornell site that they aren’t part of this part of Montana, which is probably why they are not familiar to me. You are lucky to have them visit!

    • Hi Montucky, These are so similar to the hen Mallard and also the Black Ducks but a whole lot more of a dull grey hue to the feathers. Beautiful ducks for sure! I am quite lucky to have the great variety of waterfowl here. Have a great Sunday!

  3. Great post on the Gadwall ducks.They are one duck I do not think I have seen yet this year. So, I am enjoying yours. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

