Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Today’s focus is on the hen or female, Ring-Necked Duck. There is now a small flock of about nine Ring-Necked Ducks here on the pond with the resident Mallards.  I think the hen pictured here, who showed up several days back, may have been the advanced scout duck for her flock.   The beautiful hen is a rich deep brown with lighter brown around the sides and a thick horseshoe shaped “ring” around the neck.  The blue bill also has a white ring around it near its tip.  These diving ducks eat aquatic plants, seeds, root bulbs

I just love going outside or sitting in my living room and seeing the ducks on the pond!  I took these pictures from the shoreline of the pond on February 21, 2012.  I was behind the tree and when the duck surfaced, she made a bee-line away when she spotted me.  No harm done and I got a nice set of close-ups.  I’ll be discussing the rest of the flock of Ring-Necked Ducks tomorrow.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Ring-Necked Ducks, Part 1 of 2" (4)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    she is pretty with her softened coloring.

    • Hi TexWisGirl, I think that both genders are really beautiful in their own way but the hens are like you say, softly colored. The Ring-Necks here don’t seem quite as afraid of my presence if I am still, as the geese or Mallards. Have a wonderful day!

  2. What a beauty, Linda… You did great. Glad there was a tree there for you to hide…. Great pictures.

    Have a great weekend.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. Since you so often photograph the ducks, perhaps they will get more used to you? What a great place for the waterfowl!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

