Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

I got to see this Tufted Titmouse rather up-close and personal when it was on the bird feeder.  Unfortunately for me, I had the long lens on my camera and I was inside my living room.  I took these pictures from my front window through the window screen and through the wooden porch rails.  Thus, the unusual-look to the pictures.  Tufted Titmice are handsome little birds.  They are a medium-grey in color and have a wedge-shaped beak.  They also have a little top-knot crest of short feathers on the top of their heads, much like the Northern Cardinal birds have.

The Tufted Titmice also have a buff color to their sides that has an area that takes on a rather golden hue.  They eat insects, seeds, nuts and fruits.  They are very fond of sunflower seeds as well as millet.  These small birds tend to be around other small birds such as the finches, nuthatches and wrens.  The call is a whistle similar to that we humans make when calling our dogs.  I was very happy to see the Titmouse here as this is one of the first here in my yard.  I took these pictures on February 23, 2012.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture .  Enjoy!

Comments on: "A Tufted Titmouse on the Bird Feeder" (9)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    hurray! you’ve got your feeders up and running at the new place! 🙂

    • Hi TexWisGirl, Yes, my husband put the feeder up. He is a lot taller than average so he has the fine view of the feeder from inside the house. I on the other hand, am short. Ha! Oh well. I do prefer to snap pictures of birds in trees, on the ground or in natural settings but bird feeder pictures are often nice, too! Have a wonderful evening and a very nice coming week!

  2. He has a great expression on his face as he peeks around the side of the feeder. Thanks, I have never seen those birds here.

    • Hi Bearyweather, I sure hope some day you will be able to see one. Tufted Titmice are so cute! Big eyes and a perky disposition. Have a wonderful evening and enjoy your coming week!

  3. Hi Linda, we are in Arkansas –and it got up to 68 degrees here today… Really feels like spring and is much nicer than the 25 degrees at home when we left at 6:30 this morning….

    I cannot get your pictures to come up tonight on my laptop… Don’t know why… BUT–I’m sure they are great pictures of the little Tufted Titmouse.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

  4. These are feisty little birds! They were singing out in the woods this morning. It’s always a treat to see them- nice photos!

  5. Your photos turned out great! What pretty birds!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

