Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Flight of the Geese

Canada Geese visit the little farm pond on an almost daily basis.  They fly between the nearby private community lake and the pond.  There are about eight other farm ponds within a mile of my home so there are many places for the geese to visit.  No doubt also, there are likely several flocks of these lovely geese.  The Canada Geese are year-around residents here in Cumberland County, Tennessee.  We are blessed with many lakes, ponds, and a number of small streams here in the county.

Canada Geese eat grass, bulbs, seeds, and plants.  They love to browse the shoreline of the pond here for tender new shoots of cattail reeds, rushes, and of course, grass.  They also dip down into the shallow water for tasty aquatic plants.  Recently, my husband has told me that he saw several of the Canada Geese way up away from the pond and in the area where we plan to have a vegetable garden.  It looks like a fence will be needed to keep the critters out of the garden.  I took these pictures in recent days in my yard.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Flight of the Geese" (7)

  1. really like that last right-hand corner shot of them coming in to land. 🙂

    • Hi TexWisGirl, I had hoped to get the landing shot for the post but the pictures had a lot of tree branches in the way and did not look too great. Oh well. At least some of the flight pictures came out well. Have a super good day!

  2. They are so lovely to watch in flight, and I love hearing them honk!

    • Hi Ginny, What is awesome to me is when multiple geese harmonize in their honking. So pretty sounding – even if a bit loud. Have a simply wonderful day!

  3. I can imagine that geese would be very distructive in a veggie garden. That is something I have never had to deal with. I see them over head often, and a pair nests on the little pond down the road from us each spring, but so far none in my garden.

  4. I don’t know about Canadians, but geese are commonly used to weed gardens. Take a look at this web site: http://extension.missouri.edu/p/G8922

  5. Great flight shots. We have been seeing thousands of Canada geese lately. I love the hear them honking around my lake in the morning and evenings. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

