Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Songbirds are such a nice addition to one’s yard!  I was thrilled by seeing the first male Northern Cardinal of the year here. The songster was undoubtedly calling for its friends.  The male Northern Cardinal is a jewel-like ruby-red with a black mask, wedge-shaped beak and a top-knot crest on the top of its head.  Cardinals eat berries and other fruits as well as many kinds of seeds.  They like to hide in evergreen trees such as the Junipers and Pines.

This Cardinal was singing a beautiful melodic whistle that sounded like “Wheeo, wheeo, wheeo” and that phrase repeated three times.  It is a slight variation of the call that I used to hear the Northern Cardinals in Texas make.  I think that birds, like people, have dialects.  That is my anecdotal take on the idea, anyway.  The cardinal was alone at the top of the very large bare tree so it stood out. I took this picture in my yard on a cloudy late afternoon on March 2, 2012.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "A Male Northern Cardinal" (10)

  1. they get quite chippy in the springtime. 🙂

  2. Hello There, Since I’ve been away from blogging for a week, I have alot of catching up to do. We had a wonderful trip to Arkansas –but it’s great to visit with my blog friends. Hope things are going well with you.

    Glad you all (AND us) made it through all of the storms last week… We had some twigs/limbs in the yard –and our electricity had been off. But–other than that, everything here was fine.

    Love your Cardinals!!!!! I enjoyed seeing some in Arkansas also…

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Glad you had a good trip to Arkansas and that all is fine with your home here. Have a fabulous Tuesday tomorrow – it will be slightly warmer here tomorrow.

  3. Aren’t Cardinals just so beautiful in the bleak winter, when all else is drab. They are a bright spot of life and beauty!

    • Hi Ginny, So glad you also like the Cardinals! They are pretty. I am happy that they are around here. I am going to plant an evergreen in a spot in my yard closer to the house where I hope eventually Cardinals will hang out. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

  4. The Cardinals are pretty and they do get noisy in the spring. I assume the male is calling for a mate. I enjoye dyou post and photos.

    • HI Eileen, Thanks so much! I think that romance must be in the air as far as the wildlife goes. It’s that time of year. Have a fantastic day tomorrow!

  5. That bright red is sure pretty! I’m looking forward to the colorful birds that will start arriving here. I heard a red-wing blackbird today, so they are starting to move.

    • Hi Montucky, Funny thing, I have been seeing a few Red-Winged Blackbirds here as well. That bird will be the subject of tomorrow’s post here. Have an outstanding day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

