Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Carolina Chickadee came to the bird feeder yesterday morning here at the little farm.  This bird was the first Carolina Chickadee I have seen here this year.  I used to see a lot of the Carolina Chickadees where I just moved from at my lake home.  That home was located in a heavily wooded neighborhood.  My present neighborhood does have woodlands but also has a lot of cleared pasture lands.  I am hoping to see more of the cute little Carolina Chickadees.

Carolina Chickadees are grey with a black head, white cheeks, white chest and a little area of black at the throat and upper chest (sometimes referred to as a “bib”).  They eat berries, fruits, seeds, and many insects.  Both the males and females look-alike.  Young chickadees also look similar to the adults but of course are small.  These birds tend to hang out with other small birds like the Tufted Titmice.  They often sound like:  “Chick-a-dee-dee-dee”.  I so enjoyed seeing this perky bird yesterday.  These pictures were taken from inside my living room through the window and porch railing.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "A Carolina Chickadee at the Feeder" (8)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    i’m gonna have to look up the difference between carolina and black-capped. not sure which we get here.

    • Hi TexWisGirl, I don’t know the specifics but i think that the differences are subtle like the sizes of the black bib and the overall size of the bird. I think but am not sure that the Carolina Chickadee is a tiny bit bigger than the Black Capped Chickadee. You’ll have to look it up to see which kind you have there in your neighborhood. I am betting Black Capped. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

  2. I really can’t remember you posting any chickadees, you might have a long time ago. Yes, i think you did! They are so precious, but they act like they are on speed! They flit to and fro, it is hard getting a good picture like you have.

  3. I hope you get some there for the summer! I’ve put out a few new homes for the black-capped here, but haven’t seen any nesting action yet.

  4. The Chickadees are so cute and lovely yard birds. I hope they keep visiting you and your feeder. Do you have birdhouses set up. I saw a chickadee going into my bluebird houses yesterday.

  5. I live in Britain so don’t get chickadees but yours looked allot like a willow/marsh Tit.

    • Hi William, I don’t think I have seen a Willowmarsh Tit but it is likely that there is a similarity between the two kinds of birds. Have a great day today!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

