Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Yesterday I spotted a spot of yellow way up in the crown of one of the Oaks next to the little farm pond.  I looked closely and found the bird to be an Eastern Meadowlark.  It was sitting in the tree and was silent.  I think it was just resting.  The Eastern meadowlark will perch in trees unlike their cousins the Western meadowlark.  These birds are the size of a dove and have a brown back, buff and brown streaked underside with brilliant yellow on its chest.  The bird has a black “V” marking on its yellow chest.  There are a number of these meadowlark birds here but they usually are around my neighbor’s large yards.  The Eastern Meadowlark love eating insects, worms, and grubs.  They use their long pointed bill to help them find the insects, often in the grass and in low shrubs.  I was very happy to see the meadowlark here yesterday afternoon at about 4:00 pm.  I took the photographs in my yard on March 11, 2012.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "An Eastern Meadowlark in the Oak" (9)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    nice shots of that beautiful yellow and black chest. 🙂

    • Hi TexWisGirl, He or she is beautiful. I saw an Eastern Meadowlark just now in the same tree. Maybe it is that same bird, who knows? Glad you like them. Have a super great day tomorrow!

  2. I hardly ever see them. But then again, I don’t frequent meadows that much! Have you ever heard one sing and is it different and pretty?

    • Hi Ginny, Funny you should mention about this bird’s singing. I just saw an Eastern Meadowlark up in the same tree singing away! Beautiful to see and hear. Have an excellent day tomorrow!

  3. Beautiful birds, aren’t they, Linda? IF they are around here, I don’t see them.. BUT–I’m mostly watching the little birds which come to our feeders… Meadowlarks are beautiful songbirds—since their ‘songs’ are so pretty….

    We are home from our 2nd trip is a month–and both of us have colds.. Yuk! Guess it will be REST for this upcoming week for both of us.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, I am hoping you’ll feel much better quickly. We are likely to get a bit of rain tonight which I will welcome since we just planted two small peach trees yesterday. Have a wonderful day tomorrow & I hope you’ll be feeling fine.

  4. They are pretty birds, but it is their song that really makes them favorites. The Western version is nearly identical to the Eastern, I see. When I hear them, I know for sure that spring has arrived.

  5. I am envious I would love to see a Meadowlark, they are gorgeous birds. Wonderful photos.

    • Hi Eileen, Thanks! I am over the moon thrilled with where I now live. So much wildlife and birds to see. Something new daily. Have an exceptionally nice day today!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

