Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Wood Duck Visits

A male or drake Wood Duck visited the little farm pond on Sunday, March 11, 2012 in the late afternoon.  I have seen Wood Ducks here on a handful of occasions.  They likely live on one of the nearby lakes.  There are about nine farm ponds, and at least five lakes within three miles of my home here.  There also are a lot of rural woodland areas which, in combination with the water, makes these ducks very happy.

The drake Wood Duck was happily paddling along with the resident female or hen Ring-Necked Duck.  There also was a male or drake Mallard nearby poking around in the growing reeds.  All seemed content.  I am so glad.  Yesterday I did not see the Wood Duck so I think it was just here resting on its journey elsewhere.  The Wood Ducks do live here in the area so who can tell where it was going.  I enjoy seeing the brilliant mustard yellow, rust, blue, green, black and white drake Wood Ducks.  They are oh so handsome!  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "A Wood Duck Visits" (12)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    they are such marvelously painted ducks! saw a drake here yesterday, too!

  2. I hope they stick around your pond!

    • Hi Montucky, That would be great! I hope they do! I think conditions are good for Wood Ducks in the gulch area as that area is heavily wooded and next to both pond and lake areas with rushing stream outflow from the dam of this pond. Have a great day tomorrow!

  3. They are so beautiful…painted by God!

  4. Hi Linda, How do you like this SPRING weather? We had the windows and doors opened today… Felt wonderful…

    Love your wood ducks… So pretty!!!!!

    I ‘thought’ I heard an eagle in the distance today… Never did see it though… Surely sounded like one –unless there are other birds that sound the same.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, You likely did hear a Bald Eagle. Cool. I sure do hope you get to see one. Best bet is Lake St. George with perhaps Canterbury as second bet. I have never spotted a Bald Eagle at Dartmoor but maybe they are around there as well. I love the weather! Have a super good day tomorrow!

  5. HI Linda, great sighting! I love the wood ducks, the male is so pretty.

  6. The Birding Bunch said:

    Such beautiful ducks! You see such wonderful birds in your pond.

    Last spring, we had a male/female pair roost in a front tree overnight on their way to their summer home. It was kind of funny because the light was poor and we wondered how did our ducks get in the tree? We’ve got two Khaki Campbells and a Pekin, but they were in their coop at that time. Once we got our mental bearings together, we realized what they were.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, Yes, I know that feeling. The first time I saw a Wood Duck in the tree I was concerned but later found that the Wood Ducks enjoy nesting way up high. Thanks for your great comments here. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

