Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

This Northern Yellow-Shafted Flicker was constantly calling and singing away, hidden from view in the gulch area or in the woodlands just in front of my property here at the little farm.  It was driving me crazy because I so wanted to see this bird and take its picture.  Well, on March 11, 2012, the bird cooperated with my wishes.  First, it was up at the top of a pecked-up limb of a pond-side Oak.  The bird quickly flew to the ground and started to hunt for insects on the dam.  It was right at the fence that separates my farm from the neighbor property.

This Northern Yellow-Shafted Flicker is a male.  It has a black mustache marking on its face.  Both genders have a red patch on the back of their heads.  These birds primarily enjoy a meal of insects, but also will readily eat acorns, nuts, and berries.  The Northern Yellow-Shafted Flickers like to eat on the ground.  At times, they will take food back to storage  caches in the hollows of tree trunks or cracks in bark to enjoy a quick meal at a later time.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Woodpecker Wednesday: A Flicker" (11)

  1. They are so impressive in flight! I used to love watching them eat from the antholes in our driveway.

  2. I love the Northern Flickers… We have several of them around here –and they will come to the suet feeders… I am hoping that the Red Headed Woodpeckers will be back this spring. They usually bring their little ones to the feeders –once they get big enough…

    Have a great day and enjoy this SUMMER weather!!!!
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • HI Betsy, I think that the Red Headed Woodpeckers are hands-down the most beautiful of the woodpeckers. I hope the beautiful birds will come to your yard this year – likely will. I also hope to see more woodpeckers in my area. Have a super good day and evening today, and a most wonderful day tomorrow!

  3. TexWisGirl said:

    he gave you a good yellow flash!

    • Hi TexWisGirl, Yes he did. He was hiding a lot so I was especially happy to have gotten a good look at him. He is such a tease! Have an excellent Thursday tomorrow!

  4. A Flicker is always a welcome sight! Well, unless it’s trying to break into the house.

    • Hi Montucky, Oh my, a flicker pecking on the house trying to get inside. I have heard that many woodpeckers love a tinny hollow noise and siding sometimes fits the bill nicely for the bird. I love woodpeckers that are in nature and are not being a nuisance. Have a super good Thursday tomorrow!

  5. I love flickers. They are just so beautiful. Great photos!

  6. Beautiful pictures. We haven’t seen our female in awhile, but it’s been so warm that she probably found an easy food source elsewhere. We enjoyed her while she was here.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

