Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Red-shouldered Hawk perched in one of the large Oak Trees here at the little farm yesterday afternoon.  We had just had a thunderstorm roll-through our neighborhood here, and once it stopped raining,  I decided to go outside and take some pictures.  i was out on the shore of the pond when I looked up and saw to my amazement, a very large brown bird way up in one of the oaks.  I saw that it was a hawk.  Due to the presence of the predator here, the bird song was temporarily silenced. There is a lot of potential food for the meat-eating bird here, both on the land, and in the water.

Red-shouldered Hawks live here in TN all year around.  They are fabulously quick powerful fliers.  I so enjoy having the chance to see birds of prey up close.  This hawk has a reddish-brown back, buff with brown streaked chest and banded brown and white wing feathers.  It has sharp eyes and a powerful bill.  I took these pictures in my yard on March 16, 2012.  Wishing everyone who celebrates, a happy St. Patrick’s Day!   Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!  P.S.  Thanks to a wonderful blog reader, I have now corrected the identification of this bird.  It is a Red-shouldered Hawk and not a Red-tailed Hawk.  Correction made by Wildlifewatcher on 3/17/12 at 2:47pm Central.

Comments on: "A Wet Red-shouldered Hawk" (6)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    they are such beauties! and quick to take the songbirds from the feeder area.

    • Hi TexWisGirl, Yes and it was facing the same direction as the bird feeder that is just at the house. Hope our little birdie friends don’t become a snack food item on the hawk’s menu. Have a wonderful day and a most pleasant Sunday tomorrow!

  2. I haven’t had a chance to visit your blog in awhile, but I hope you do not mind a comment. I think what you have is a Red-shouldered Hawk. The range is right for Red-shouldered. The tail pattern clued me in.

    I am not an expert in hawks by any means, but we were blessed to see one out of range this February and did quite a bit of guide comparing.

    What a thrill for you to see one at home and you got some very nice pictures. 😀

    • Hi Birding Bunch, I so appreciate it when knowledgeable bloggers help me in correctly identifying a bird that I take pictures of and highlight here. Thank you so much! Have a great day! P.S. I will make corrections here.

  3. You got some terrific photos of that big guy!

    • Hi Montucky, Thank you! Happily for me, I was only about twenty feet from the tree where the hawk was perched. I was pretty low-key and quiet after I noticed the hawk was there. It only flew away when my husband (who was quite a distance from the area) started the tractor up. Have super good Sunday tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

