Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A female Downy Woodpecker was working at pecking or drumming,  on a dead hollowed out tree branch in a pond-side Oak here.  The drumming sound was very musical and sounded like someone was playing two different notes on a Marimba musical instrument (like a wooden xylophone).  The little bird was persistent at pecking with its sharp,  strong,  bill on the wood.  Woodpeckers peck to communicate, to find insects, or to shape holes to make nests or food pantry caches.

I think that communication and food were the topics on the mind of this little lady.  Note, I said lady.  The females lack the distinctive red spot on the back of her head that the males do have.  The Downy Woodpecker is one of the smaller woodpeckers.  These lovely woodpeckers have a white underside,  black and white barred wings, and a white head with a broad stripe of black over the eyes.  These birds eat insects, seeds and nuts mostly.  I was quite happy to have seen the bird and took its picture in my yard on March 22, 2012.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "A Lot of Drumming by a Little Bird" (11)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    diligence is their middle name! 🙂

  2. Cute, but how can such a small bird make such a big noise! And I guess they never even get a headache! Good shots!

    • Hi Ginny, No, I doubt that their heads hurt – I think that they have thick skulls with some sort of shock absorbing tissues. This one bird was so loudly drumming that we heard it inside the house (open window). Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

  3. We’ve been enjoying our female Downy the last several months. Yesterday, we finally saw the male. Miss Downy was a picky little thing. I tried a new recipe and she wouldn’t touch it. I was so glad I had some bacon grease on hand so made her a special batch and she was eating again. I’m sure she had other sources of food, but it was funny watching her avoid the new stuff.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, I have only used a seed feeder here. At my old house, I had a seed feeder and a large Woodpecker style suet feeder. I am trying to see what birds are here and how many come to the feeder. I also am watching out for any squirrels. So far the coast is clear on the squirrels as the area where they are based is far from the feeder. Interesting about your Downy and that new recipe. Have a wonderful Sunday tomorrow!

  4. That little princess was working hard, wasn’t she????? Great pictures..

    It’s gotten much cooler here today –with rain off and on… I assume it’s the same where you are. We even put a fire in the fireplace tonight to take the chill out of the house.

    Have a wonderful Sunday.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Yes, quite a cool day. Had a swarm of different birds at the feeder here. Cowbirds came today as did the Cardinals. Also had a bunch of Red-winged Blackbirds. I think the word’s out about the gourmet birdseed! Ha! Have an excellent Sunday tomorrow! Glad we did not have bad storms.

  5. She’s a pretty little thing!

  6. I love these cute lttle woodies, another one of my favorites. The are fun to watch. Wonderful captures

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

