Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

These days I am not seeing many birds here but I am hearing the American Robins singing away up in the Oak Trees.  The songs and calls are quite beautiful.  I miss seeing and hearing the Eastern Bluebirds but I think that the Robins are doing a fine job as the neighborhood troubadours.  The American Robins will be nesting soon.  A lot of the birds here are nesting now.

The Robins enjoy browsing in the newly mown grass to find worms, grubs, and other tasty morsels for their meals.  Because of nesting, many birds are just not out and about much.  It is a fairly quiet period and is early this year due to the warm weather.  I was quite happy to see the American Robins.  Robins are beautiful in  their looks and their song!  I took these pictures in my yard on several days in the last few weeks.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "American Robins Hunting and Singing" (8)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    very sweet. i love their presence.

  2. I noticed my first robins this weekend. There were 8 in the yard and they amused me by flipping the dead leaves. They pick them up and toss them in the air looking for hidden treats underneath.
    We are having snow flurries today … the windows have been shut with the furnace on … but, I look forward to the day I can open the windows and listen to their song.

    • Hi Bearyweather, I sure hope you have great warm weather soon and that it stays warm. We have had warm weather for a month but will have frost twice this week at late night and early morning hours. Glad your Robins have returned. Fun to watch. Have an excellent day and another great day tomorrow!

  3. HI Linda, Great pictures of the Robins… I cannot believe that some of ours are still coming to the suet feeder… Most of the time, Robins don’t eat bird food like that –except in the dead of winter… There are plenty of worms in the ground around here… Just surprises me… Interesting how the birds surprise us from one year to the next..

    Hugs,
    Betsy
    At least that one Robin has finally quit pecking on our glass…. ha

    • Hi Betsy, I think you are right about the individual likes of various birds. I have a blackbird that has learned to use the bird feeder and delicately takes seed from the individual ports. Not an easy task for a bird with a broader bill. Who knew? Have a wonderful day tomorrow and watch for frost Tues. and Wed. nights.

  4. Hi Linda, I always love to hear the robins and other birds singing. Beautiful shots, hope you have a great day

  5. I love the Robins too. Our grass is greening up now and that will attract them! It always does.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

