Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

The Great Blue Heron comes to visit the little farm pond every couple of days.  It hunts for small fish, frogs, worms, aquatic insects, eggs, and other small pond animals.  The Canada Geese are managing to keep the heron away from the nest so far.  The heron has plenty of fish and frogs here so it won’t bother the geese now.  I also noticed that a pair of Wood Ducks paddled past the Great Blue Heron.  This was after the heron had already gobbled up its lunch.

The Great Blue Heron has its nest high up in a tall tree on the nearby small private community lake.  The herons are a nice addition to the pond here and stay around all-year-long.  By the way,  I am not sure if the heron is moving the stick as it appears in one of the pictures, or if the bird is taking the stick.  If it is taking the stick, that stick likely will be used in nest-building or repair.   I took these pictures here in my yard on April 15, 2012.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photo.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "A Visit by the Great Blue Heron" (12)

  1. You need to name him!!!!! Since he visits so often, he’s going to be a great friend!!!!! Maybe you can invite him to dinner… ha ha

    My Bluebirds have babies in the nestbox… I sat on the deck for awhile watching Mom and Dad go back and forth feeding them… And Daddy went berserk when the Bluejays were close by!!!!!

    Have a great day.. Hopefully, we’ll get some rain.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Funny you should say that about the heron. My husband has already informally started calling the heron “Hank”. Pun intended. Ha! It just started raining here. Should have some stormy weather but I hope it won’t include anything severe. Glad your Bluebirds are doing well. I saw an amazing flock of Red-headed Woodpeckers here yesterday! Will blog on that group on Wed. Have a wonderful day!

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    great to catch him with the stick. 🙂

  3. Great pictures, you can really see the blue here. So you have seen the nest? Oh, do you think maybe you will be snapping baby herons shortly???How divine that would be!

    • Hi Ginny, I have not seen the current rookery but I am sure it is nearby in the area of the small private community lake here in the neighborhood. The former rookery was in an area of trees that fell over in a huge storm a few months ago. Have a great Tuesday tomorrow!

  4. They are so large and lanky … it is amazing that they also seem so graceful.

  5. You sure are getting some great photos of that heron! Is he getting less shy? (the ones I see are so easily spooked, once they notice that someone is watching them.)

  6. You are really lucky to have the heron stay around and give you such a good chance to see him!

  7. You are blessed to witness this. We see Great Blues not too far from here, but it would be great to have them right on our property. We often see one standing in the creek.

  8. Love GBHs! So fun to watch them. Great captures! I was watching one this morning off my balcony, he too was picking up a stick, then dropping and picking up another one. I thought to myself, he’s shoppin’ for just the right one to take to a nest! We had one for 15 weeks visiting this past winter that I blogged about, every day he was there like clockwork. We named him Blake the blue heron. Some think I’m a little crazy with my birds….. 😉

    • Hi Donna, I really am happy you also get to see herons up close. My husband has also named the heron here – “Hank Heron”. My husband loves puns so hence that name (similar to baseball hall of fame player). Have an outstanding weekend and thanks for your very nice comment!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

