Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

On April 15, 2012 at just about dusk,  I saw a flock of at least five Red-headed Woodpeckers in the trees and on the electric power poles on the street just in front of the little farm here.  I had never before seen more than two of these gorgeous woodpeckers together in one place.  I think that a courtship ritual was going on at the time.  There was one Red-headed Woodpecker on each of two power poles drumming away and making a single call.

The wooden poles were adjacent.  There were an additional three woodpeckers, each in a tree near the poles.  The woodpeckers would drum  and then engage in a short skirmish with one or two other Red-headed Woodpeckers on the poles.  One bird would replace the other, and the loser would fly to a tree.  This continued for several minutes.  It was thrilling and comical!  I have never seen anything like it.  These beautiful birds have a ruby-red head and neck with a black back.  The other areas are a bright white.  The bird has a white tip on the tail feathers.  Being woodpeckers, these birds have a strong thick long pointed bill.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

P.S.  Oops!  At least one of my Red-headed friends has discovered that my steel house rain gutters sound great when drummed or pecked.  Yikes!  Soft discouragement (Hubby going out on the porch and making lots of noise) is in fine order.  I’ll let you know what happens.  Wildlifewatcher.

Comments on: "A Flock of Red-headed Woodpeckers" (12)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    i’d be thrilled to see one here, much less five at once! 🙂

    • Hi TexWisGirl, It is amazing to see. I know that some of these woodpeckers are still here in the area because one was sitting on my roof this morning. I also hear them in the woods. Have a great day tomorrow!

  2. Oh WOW!!!! Well, do they fly in flocks, I never thought they did. Are woodpeckers mostly solitary? These are so stunning, i have never sen a real one.

    • Hi Ginny, Beautiful and gem-like. These are unusual and really interesting birds. They are slightly bigger than a Red-bellied Woodpecker – stouter. Have a great day tomorrow and I hope you’ll have a chance to see one at sometime in the future.

  3. NOW I know why I haven’t seen any Red-Heads so far this spring… They are all visiting YOU…. ha ha …. Oh –how jealous I am… I love those gorgeous birds.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Ha! Maybe so. Who can say? I have not seen many around before this so maybe they move for the Winter and return in Spring. They are gorgeous and pretty fun to watch. The courtship was really funny with the small battles, rhythmic drumming, screetch call, and all that flying around. Serious for the birds, thought. Ha! Have a super good day tomorrow!

  4. Hi all, When I said that these woodpeckers had white on the tips of the tail feathers, I really meant the wing feathers and not totally to the tip. Wildlifewatcher. : )

  5. Wow, lucky you …. I have never seen that many together before … lucky to see just one.

    • Hi Bearyweather, I am quite lucky! I love ’em – even when they accidentally drum away on my rain gutters on the roof of my porch! : )
      So glad you have seen them. Have a super nice Thursday!

  6. Hi Again All, Here is the P.P.S. on that Red-headed Woodpecker that was drumming on my rain gutter earlier this afternoon. It appears that the reason why the bird was up on the gutter was that it was drinking rain water out of it. Smart bird. So, the bird may have seen an insect and accidentally pecked and liked the sound. That sound is pleasing to woodpeckers. Wildlifewatcher.

  7. Along with TexWisGirl, I would be very happy to see just one. They sure are colorful!

  8. Hi Linda, I just love these birds. How cool to see a flock of them. They are beautiful with their pretty redheads. Great photos.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

