Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

The Red-headed Woodpecker that was pecking or drumming on the rain gutter on my porch roof the other day (4/18/12), was simply getting itself a cool drink of rain water.  At first, I thought that one of the newly arrived flock of Red-headed Woodpeckers was trying to drill a hole either in the siding of my home or on the tin metal roof of my porch.  It turns out, the bird simply was thirsty.  The Red-headed Woodpeckers like eating, and in general, being up high, I think.

It makes sense that the bird would rather perch and drink up on the roof where it could scout out the territory and keep an eye on all the other birds and animals.   The alternative would be for the bird to land and walk to the pond and dip or fly and try to quickly dip before any large predator might catch it. I keep hearing the calls of the Red-headed Woodpeckers as well as other kinds of woodpeckers, here in the area of my little farm.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "The Bird was Only Drinking!" (11)

  1. Hi Linda, I was so excited yesterday… Saw our first Red-Head here… What a gorgeous bird. Last year, a Red-Bellied loved to sharpen his beak on the metal on the top of our chimney about this time… There was NO water up there…. But–he could make alot of noise!!!!! ha

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, I am so happy your Red-head has arrived! Fantastic! I do think that the woodpeckers, especially so for the Red-headed, love the sound of pecking or drumming on hollow metal and also on resonant wood. Sort of like a cat and catnip, I’d imagine. Ha! Have a great day today. Rain and maybe some storms on the way.

  2. What a nice sighting! About all we have interested in the gutters (that we’ve seen) are House sparrows trying to nest in them. I wish we could see more Red-headed woodpeckers, but we do not have the right habitat.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, Interesting about those nesting sparrows. I am just amazed at the wide variety of birds we do see here in Cumberland County, Tennessee. Must be geography, rural area, habitat and climate. Have a great Saturday tomorrow!

  3. TexWisGirl said:

    belly up to the bar, boy!

  4. Good grief!!Glad you found out the reason, but why does it have to drum away as it drinks?

    • Hi Ginny, That’s a great question. I am not sure. Maybe there were insects up there? Maybe he or she just loves the sound drumming on a steel gutter makes? Who can say? I had a good time seeing the woodpecker. It is still around and is up on one of the Oaks next to the pond. Also saw a Red-bellied Woodpecker yesterday here. Must be a convention! Ha! Have a great Saturday tomorrow!

  5. Strange, but lots of people get noisy when they drink, too.

  6. I would love to have this bird pecking on my house, send him over. Glad he found a drink. Great photos.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

