Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Nibbling Woodpecker

This time of year is when the Red-Bellied Woodpeckers just go crazy over the Oak flowers and any insects hanging with the pollen in the clusters.  I recall seeing a similar action by the woodpeckers, in the Fall when the ripening acorns had caterpillars inside many of them.  Woodpeckers prefer Oak Trees it seems.  Here I have seen five different types of woodpeckers but have not seen a Pileated Woodpecker here on the little farm.  That one was spotted down the street.

The Red-bellied Woodpeckers eat insects in the bark and leaves and also like seeds and nuts.  The Red-bellied Woodpecker has a barred black and white back, white head with a small red patch, and a white belly with a pinkish-tinge to it.  It has a stout long sharp bill with which it pecks or drums.  These are lovely medium-sized birds!  I am always happy to see them.  I took these pictures at twilight on a cloudy evening at about 7:00pm when sunlight streamed through clouds to light the trees a bit.  I took these pictures on April 19, 2012 in my yard.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "A Nibbling Woodpecker" (7)

  1. Hi Linda, We have alot of oaks in our yard; therefore alot of Red-Bellied around!!!! AND—alot of that Oak ‘stuff’ all over the ground… I sweep the deck about 10 times a day these days… ha

    Have a great day.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Yes, that Oak pollen and little flower bits from the Oaks does get all over. I remember seeing a yellow film on the surface of the lake a few days ago when we were in the Glade doing work on our lake home. Great for the birtds and the forest but not so good for humans and homes. Ha! Have a wonderful day and a super coming week!

  2. I had no idea that woodpeckers will eat flowers!!!

  3. TexWisGirl said:

    the yellow light in the background makes these look like oriental paintings! 🙂

    • Hi TexWisGirl, The only thing I did software-wise was to lighten and sharpen the photographs. The light was really interesting and the pasture and pond were in the background so it fooled the camera into focusing on the bird with blended chartreuse background coloring showing. Interesting and pretty, I think. Have a great Monday tomorrow and a really nice coming week!

  4. The light conditions must have been just right to produce that background. I like it. It really puts the focus on the birds.

    • Hi Montucky, Yes, I went outside because I noticed that brilliant yellow-orange light that just lit up the pasture on the other side of the pond as well as the trees here. Beautiful light so I snapped a few pictures of the birds. I heard the woodpecker so I took its picture. Lucky. Have a really fine day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

