Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Red-Headed Woodpecker has come to live in one of the Oak Trees beside the little farm pond here.  This particular woodpecker is the same one that was drinking water out of the rain gutter on my front porch several days ago.  Because the bird feeder is right next to the porch and so many birds are now coming to the feeder for a bite to eat, the Red-Headed Woodpecker has recently learned how to use the feeder.  I was amazed at the sight.  The bird feeder only has seed and not any suet so I was surprised to see the woodpecker using it.

By the way, Mr. and Mrs. Mallard Duck have also learned that this magical feeder drops bits of corn and other delightful seeds once in a while!  Unfortunately for me, the Grey Squirrel was around yesterday and was trying to figure out why everyone else was invited to this fine party.  I imagine it will only be a matter of time…  Oh well!  I’ll cross that bridge when it becomes a problem.  Ha!  I took these pictures on April 30. 2012 from my living room window and porch.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the largerpicture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Woodpecker Wednesday: At the Bird Seed Feeder" (14)

  1. My, is he ever colorful!

    • Hi Montucky, I can see him in the trees from my living room which is about thirty yards away +-. He is very bright now. Have a fine day today!

  2. We have a resident Red-head here –but he likes the suet feeder. Hope he brings his babies to the feeder when they are big enough… (He did that last year.)

    Sorry about the squirrels… People don’t realize how those ‘cute critters’ can be such nuisances.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Well, so far, the squirrel has not come up to the house. It lives way far down the driveway at the street or in the gulch. It occasionally comes to the Oak grove to load up on acorns. So glad you have a Red-head, too! Have a super day!

  3. TexWisGirl said:

    they are SO pretty! wish we had them here. my red-bellies use the regular bird feeders here. downies, too.

    • Hi TexWisGirl, The Red-head is charming me into naming him #1 woodpecker over the great Pileated which used to have that position in my mind. Glad you have woodpeckers that enjoy your hospitality at the seed feeder! Cool! Have a fantastically nice day!

  4. Those birds are just gorgeous. Sadly, they never visit me. 😦

    • Hi Song, These are really pretty birds indeed. Yes, your geography and weather just are a bit different for the Red-Headed to feel comfortable. Glad to hear from you! Have a fabulous day tomorrow!

  5. This is a first for me, and you got some amazing pictures!!!

  6. I just love your redhead woodies, lucky you! Wonderful photos.

  7. Oh, lucky you! I can count on one hand the number of times I have seen a redheaded woodpecker! Such pretty birds. I have never seen a woodpecker of any kind eat seeds out of a feeder.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

