Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Yesterday I was out walking with the camera and saw a new face here.  I was extremely pleased to see a male Baltimore Oriole bird on a lower branch of a dead tree.  That tree is in a really good spot for the birds and wildlife – the gulch area near the pond’s dam.  Lots of food, water, and shelter.

The Baltimore Oriole is the bird of Maryland.  It is s Spring visitor here in this area of Tennessee up on the Cumberland Plateau.  The male is bright orange, black, and white.  The female and older juveniles are basically similar but of a duller and slightly brownish tone.  These birds love nectar, insects and fruits.  I have read where they really enjoy a now and then treat of a sliced orange fruit being put out for them to nibble at and sip the juices from.  Interesting!  I took the pictures in my driveway yesterday.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photo.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "A Baltimore Oriole Bird Stops By" (7)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    beautiful! i was excited to catch sight of an orchard oriole here (at least that’s what i’m thinking it was) yesterday. 🙂 didn’t get it on camera, though!

    • Hi TexWisGirl, I have only seen Orchard Orioles here in this area a couple of times. I am so glad to hear that you have seen one in your area – great! The Orchard Oriole is darker and more of a brown rusty color but is very beautiful. I always get excited to see new-ish birds! Have a super good day!

  2. So pretty! I am sure I heard one singing yesterday, though I did not see it! I love their hanging basket nests.

  3. What a beauty! Every year or so we have one come through here. Gorgeous birds!

  4. The Orioles are pretty birds, great visitor to your yard. Congrats.

  5. Eleenie said:

    We have golden orioles that visit our garden but the baltimore oriole is gorgeous, great markings.

    • Hi Eleenie, I have never seen a Golden Oriole. It must certainly be a beauty! Thanks for your nice comment. Have a wonderful day and a pleasant weekend!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

