Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

I was out in the yard with the camera the other day and saw the Kildeer in its usual spot on the ground fairly close to the shoreline of the pond.  That area has a mossy native plant ground cover as well as stubby grasses.  My husband does not mow there because he noticed that the Kildeer was in the area and was nesting.  I did not go anywhere near the nest but did stop a moment to take a long-lens photo.  That was enough to set the bird off in its defensive “Wounded bird” act.  I have included a picture of that action below as my last shot.  My husband reported this morning that the bird is sitting on her nest and won’t budge, so likely the chicks are either hatched-out or nearly so this morning.   I took these pictures on May 5, 2012.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photograph.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "A Kildeer and its Nest" (7)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    it always amazes me how these birds will form a nest in such a shallow hollow w/ a few rocks to hold the eggs in place.

  2. The Birding Bunch said:

    Beautiful pictures of the Killdeer, thank you for sharing them. I enjoy seeing these birds around, but we’ve not had any nest here yet.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, You never can tell when or if the Kildeer are going to nest. One thing for sure is that the ones I have seen all nest on the ground. Have an excellent weekend and thanks again for your great comments!

  3. Great series of photos! I love the “wounded” one!

    • Hi Montucky, Thank you! I think it is especially interesting to see the natural defensive characteristic of the Kildeer. Have a wonderful day today and a nice weekend, too!

  4. They seem to like to nest in the farmer fields near by. I haven’t seen on my property yet. Love your photos!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

