Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Here are a few birds, ducks, and a squirrel that have been in my yard in the last couple of weeks.  I sure do like seeing all the various wildlife here.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Drake Wood Ducks

An Eastern Kingbird

Mourning Dove

Grey Squirrel

Northern Mockingbird

Eastern Blue Jay

Comments on: "Random Pictures in my Yard" (9)

  1. i love the addition f the squirrel, and he looks on the alert to catch one of those birds, I am sure it would make his day!

    • Hi Ginny, The enormous numbers of critters here are really wonderful to see every day. I so like seeing all these animals and birds. One reason why we don’t have a kitty. Have a great day!

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    i like it all. 🙂

    • Hi TexWisGirl, So glad you do! Thanks! By the way, I just now saw the first Eastern Chipmunk here at the little farm. It sprinted across my back porch (I bet it has found the bird seed sack on the front porch – I saw a tiny hole in the paper sack yesterday). Ha! Have a great day!

  3. You posted some of my favorite birds, the Mourning Dove, and Wood Ducks I especially enjoy. Do you feed the birds all summer? We’re still having Blue Jays eat our peanuts.

    We don’t see chipmunks, but do get their cousin, the thirteen-striped ground squirrel, or more commonly called Squinneys. They too eat our bird seed, but often bury mouthfuls which then grow. We’ve had plenty of sunflowers planted this way.

    I hope you don’t mind. Your first bird is not a Phoebe, but an Eastern Kingbird. The white tip of the tail gives it away. 🙂 Here’s a link:
    http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Eastern_Kingbird/id

    I hope you have a wonderful Sunday. I am looking forward to a restful day here.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, Thanks about the Kingbird. I had thought maybe but the bird seemed pretty small – maybe just a small one. I feed all year long and use an inexpensive but popular mix of Sunflower seeds, Millet, and Cracked Corn (Grandma’s brand). I get this at the local feed store. Cheapest mix that the birds actually like that I have found (I have used five mixes from a variety of stores). Just works. Thanks again!

  4. You really have a nice variety! Out latest arrivals here have been gross beaks and two days ago, hummingbirds. Our summer visitors are just about complete now.

  5. You do see a wonderful variety of wildlife in your yard. The Kingbird is great and I love the Wood ducks. I hope you have a happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

