Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Ducks on the March

This pair of Mallard Ducks has made itself at home in my front yard.  The couple march up the broad lawn from the pond to the porch.  The attraction is the bird feeder which is hung on a shepherd’s hook pole just a couple of feet from the porch.  Whenever medium-sized birds fly from the feeder, the motion shakes a bit of left-over bird seed down to the ground.  Instant duck treats!  I usually just stand back and enjoy seeing the ducks march and then grab their seed treat snacks.  If I am outside and need to go back inside the house, I’ll use the back stairs or sometimes will gently just go the regular route with as little notice given to the ducks as I can manage.  Most times, the ducks will just start moving down towards the pond and won’t panic.  I like the interactions between the songbirds and these wild ducks.  I took the pictures in my yard on May 11, 2012.  Happy Mother’s Day to all!  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Ducks on the March" (7)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    i love to watch the ducks come up from the pond to feed under the feeders. i put scratch feed down for them as well as the ‘shakedown’ treats.

    • Hi TexWisGirl, I was surprised at how bold all the wildlife here actually is. I just had two Crows on my porch rail a few moments ago looking for the spilled birdseed that my husband left behind when he filled the feeder yesterday (tiny hole in the bag). Interesting to see the ducks waddling around. I doubt though that I’ll see any Wood Ducks up here at the house. Glad you get up-close type visitors too! Ha! Have a super Mother’s Day and a nice coming week!

  2. How lovely to have these wild creatures visiting your garden. I have just read all your posts and thoroughly enjoyed them. Thanks for sharing.

  3. That’s really nice to have a pair of ducks become members of the family so to speak!

    • Hi Montucky, I often see the pair waddling back and forth quite cautiously up the lawn to the house. When they catch sight of me, they scoot. Yes, they are dear. Have a wonderful day tomorrow and a great coming week!

  4. So they get the droppings of the songbirds! Their march has a purpose.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

