Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Here are some more pictures of the resident Red-Headed Woodpecker that I took yesterday.  The bird has learned to use the bird feeder and comes for seed at least once a day.  I have decided that Red-Headed Woodpeckers like wooden electric poles.  I have seen many woodpeckers on the tall poles.  They must get a lot of sound out of pecking on the hard wood.  As long as the bird does not damage the pole or the electric equipment, I am not unhappy to let the birds perch on the pole.

I believe that the=re are several Red-Headed Woodpeckers around here.  There may be several of these birds in the fringe of hardwood forest that is South of my home at the street.  I am quite pleased each time I see the woodpeckers.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Woodpecker Wednesday – The Red Headed" (8)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    so pretty! our red-bellies and downies have put pretty large holes in our electric poles. i had the electric company come out and look at them as i didn’t want to be without our transformer. they assured me that until the holes got big enough to put your fist through, it was okay. um, yeah, sure… 🙂

    • Hi TexWisGirl, That’s a sad reality in that our bird and animal friends can accidentally be destructive to our human structures. I have my fingers and toes crossed. By the way, the little cute chipmunk has successfully found the bird feeder. Oops! To top it off, it is light enough not to trip the anti-squirrel feature. Oh well….
      Have a wonderful Thursday tomorrow!

  2. Hi Linda, Aren’t the Red-headed Woodpeckers just gorgeous? They truly are one of the prettiest birds I think… Guess what I saw yesterday? A ‘baby’ Red-headed…. Didn’t get his picture YET –but hope I will. He’s very GRAY looking —and honestly looks like a great big House Finch right now…. Not much color.

    I know you will be thrilled to finally get rid of the house in the Glade.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. Good captures, he looks stripped in the first one. The electric wire thing has always been a mystery to me, some birds prefer them over trees. I hope they don’t damage the phone poles. Or get their beaks shocked!

    • Hi Ginny, It may be the resonant sound of the pecking on the wood and, possibly on metal. I too think it is risky for the birds but who can say. They certainly do seem attracted. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

  4. Those are pretty redheads! I just realized that I haven’t seen a woodpecker for the last week or so. Must be the hummingbirds chased them off.

  5. AHHH, the Redheaded Woodies are one of my favorites. You are so lucky to see them at your home. Wonderful shots. Have a wonderful evening.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

