Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

There are a small flock of resident Wood Ducks here on the little farm pond.  These ducks have likely already paired up and are nesting in the nearby trees.  There are also a few lone bachelors around as well.  Yesterday I was out with the camera and heard the familiar whistle quack of the Wood Ducks.  I saw a couple of drakes on the pond and there also was a pair floating happily on the other shoreline near the reeds.

All of the sudden, first one drake took to the skies and then the pair followed.  These are quick ducks both on the water and in the air!  The male or drake is brightly colored and the hen is a much plainer brown with white.  I am very happy that the Wood Ducks are around here.  I like having a variety of waterfowl here.  I took these pictures in my yard on 5/17/12.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Wood Ducks on the Wing" (8)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    love the splashes. whistle-quack is a great description, too. 🙂

    • Hi TexWisGirl, If you watch ducks enough, you can see when they get restless and will take off from the water. I caught the action and followed the birds. I sure do enjoy these ducks! By the way, it just started to rain here. Much needed drops! Have a wonderful day!

  2. They sure are good fliers, in fact ducks in general are exceptional fliers. Folks don’t usually give them the credit they deserve. I hope you will be seeing babies soon!

    • Hi Montucky, I too am hopeful of seeing ducklings! Will be nice. Wood Ducks are great parents as are many ducks. Saw a cat this afternoon near my shed at the side of the pond. Will have to monitor the situation and hopefully this kitty lives in the neighborhood and was not abandoned and feral. Bad for birds and ducklings. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

  3. You always get the loveliest in flight shots. I bet they are spectacular to see in person flying.

    • Hi Ginny, Many thanks! Although these ducks are small, they are brightly colored and have that distinctive whistle-quack call. Easily detected when heard first. I sure do like just going out and looking at the pond and at the pastures and grove of Oaks. Never know what I’ll see. Have a super Sunday tomorrow!

  4. How cool, love the wood ducks. You are lucky to see them at home.

    • Hi Eileen, Yes the Wood Ducks are very cool ducks to have around. I was just outside and saw three fly in. Unfortunately I also had the Grey Squirrel on the porch railing staring at the bird feeder – first time it has been quite that bold. I have not had a squirrel on the feeder in the four months it has been up. I made a big scary show of frightening off the squirrel. Hated to do it but then…
      Have an outstanding coming week!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

