Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Today I am showing pictures that I took this past week of a Red-Bellied Woodpecker and a Red-Headed Woodpecker.  Both reside in the Oaks in my yard.  The Red-Bellied has a pinkish-white belly and an orange-red cap on its head.  It has barred or checkered black and white patterned back feathers.  It has a lot of white on its face and  has the characteristic stout, long,  sharp bill that many woodpeckers have.

The Red-Headed Woodpecker looks like its whole head was dipped in a scarlet-red paint.  It also has a black and white back but the feather coloring is in large blocks of color.  The tail feathers of the Red-Headed Woodpecker are white.  Both of these woodpeckers eat insects, seeds, nuts, and fruits.  They love acorns, nuts and berries and will store the nuts and acorns away for future use.  The woodpeckers live in hollowed out spaces in the tree trunks or in larger limbs of huge trees.  Both of the woodpeckers I am showing today have been at my bird feeder in recent days to snack on seed.  I took these picrtues in my yard and from my living room window on May 20, 2012, and also on May 22, 2012.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!I

Comments on: "Wednesday’s Woodpeckers" (8)

  1. When I think about Red-bellied Woodpeckers, I think about the time right after we moved here when I was JUST beginning to learn more about birds… I learned to recognize a Red-bellied—but it took months and months before I could get a glimpse of his red belly…. ha ha

    Our yard is enjoying the rain this week… So do the weeds… ha
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Fun story. When I think of weeds, I think of how much of this invasive Spiny Amaranth I have. I tried hand pulling it but discovered that the weed has thorns – big ones! So I hoe away. Tight spaces don’t allow the tractor to roto-till so it is hand-work for me. Good exercise. This weed is likely why the rabbits here don’t eat my lettuce so I guess it is the rainbow in the cloud of the weeds. Ha! Saw five bunnies here yesterday. Also saw a pair of Wood Ducks under the bird feeder which is a first. Have a wonderful day today!

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    i always enjoy the woodpeckers – whether at your place or mine! 🙂

  3. What stunning shots of the red!!!

    • Hi Ginny, Many thanks! The woodpeckers really were in convention mode yesterday. Real woodpecker weather – rainy warm, and not too windy. Have a super good day!

  4. I think I may have said it before, but I am a bit jealous of all the woodpeckers you have, especially that redheaded woodpecker! He is so handsome. 🙂

  5. They are also very industrious little characters too, aren’t they!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

