Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Hen Bobwhite Quail

I have been hearing quail in the yard for several days but had not seen any until yesterday.  I saw a hen Bobwhite out on the grass close to the house.  This bird is the first Bobwhite I have seen.   The Northern Bobwhite is a round, medium bird and low to the ground.  The hen I saw was a cinnamon brown with dark brown and white streaks.  The Northern Bobwhite lives in the Eastern United States.

The bird’s call says its name.  It eats insects in the late Spring and Summer and seeds the rest of the year.  hey run along the ground and spend most of the time either in the taller grass or among shrubs.  They are seldom in trees.  They are devoted parents and nest on the ground.  They usually only have one brood of young a year here in Tennessee.  Please excuse the poor quality of the photos.  I took the pictures yesterday morning from inside the house.  I did not want to scare the bird away.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "A Hen Bobwhite Quail" (9)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    when you mentioned you had them the other day, i was hoping you could get some photos! i haven’t seen these birds since i left wisconsin!

    • Hi TexWisGirl, This bird is a first for me. I have seen pictures of the Bobwhite and have of course heard of the famous whistle call. In California we had different types of Quail. I was thrilled to see one! So nice that you also have seen these great birds! Have a super good day!

  2. What a great find!!! I don’t know if I have ever seen one, you must have been very excited, I know I would have been!!!

  3. I wish we had them here. I love hearing their calls!

  4. I haven’t seen one of those since I lived in upstate NY. They were a game bird there. Pretty, plump little birds.

  5. I remember fondly hearing Bobwhite calls when I was growing up out in the country. It’s grand to see them again!

  6. What a wonderful bird to see and photograph. I’ve never heard or seen one. Do you have bird tape up? It looks like it in the photos. We put some up a couple weeks ago and had to get used to the caged look, but we wanted to protect the birds since some of our windows are prone to bird strikes.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, No, it’s not bird tape but it is the railing for the natural finished porch. I took the pictures through two layers of door windows (regular and storm door). Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

