Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

I was walking along my driveway near the street when I noticed a Red-Headed Woodpecker on one of the larger Oaks here.  It was walking up the trunk and then it stopped and started pecking at the bark.  I think it is either drilling a new home or is building a pantry cache spot in the trunk.  The other possibility is that there may have been insects in the bark that the bird was trying to get at.  I took the pictures rather late in the afternoon.  After a few minutes, the bird gave up and flew off.

I just love watching the woodpeckers!  Right now, the only woodpeckers I am seeing out are the Red-Bellied and the Red-Headed.  I do occasionally hear a Northern Yellow-shafted Flicker (yes, it is the woodpecker and not a Mockingbird calling) way out in the yard.  My husband also told me he saw the flicker here recently.  I do get to see the Red-Headed Woodpeckers almost daily here now.  I took these shots on June 3, 2012 on the street in front of my home here at the little farm.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Woodpecker Wednesday: A Red-Headed Woodpecker Pecks" (8)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    so dang handsome!

    • Hi TexWisGirl, They are spectacular-looking birds. I like to show the woodpeckers on trees sometimes and not just on poles or bird feeders, or yikes, houses! Have a super nice day!

  2. Hi Linda, I love watching woodpeckers also…. I do know that they are always looking for insects when they drill/peck….. BUT–I also know that, at this time of year, they may be making a ‘home’ for the upcoming family!!!!! Gorgeous birds.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. Good and bright pictures…you are really lucky to have this bird around. I wish I could see one.

    • Hi Ginny, Thanks! Yes, the Red-Headed is by far, my favorite woodpecker – those a close second is that jumbo Pileated (I don’t see those around much here). Have a super great day tomorrow!

  4. They are sure pretty birds! I wish we had some here.

  5. One of my favorite woodies, I just love your redhead woodpeckers. Lucky you, I am a bit envious. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

