Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Here are some of the resident Red-headed Woodpeckers and Northern Yellow-shafted Flicker Woodpeckers that I saw around the little farm in the past few days.  I also saw one Red-bellied Woodpecker but the pictures I took were way too bad to post except for the one here which is marginal.  I sure to love seeing all of these Woodpeckers here.

There are a pair of Red-headed Woodpeckers here in the Oaks next to the pond and a pair of the Flickers that live in the gulch below the pond’s dam.  There are likely seven Red-headed Woodpeckers in the neighborhood and maybe three or four Red-bellied Woodpeckers around, too.  I think there may be a Downy Woodpecker or two in the neighborhood but I seldom see them.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Woodpecker Wednesday: “Reds” and Flickers" (8)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    just love both of these birds!

  2. Always love seeing your woodpeckers, Linda. Right now, we’ve had quite a few Red-heads around here —and at our feeders…. We’re getting ready to get a new deck—-so that will upset the birds for awhile…. Hopefully, they won’t give up on us. Usually they do NOT…

    Have a great day.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. Babies!!! And lots of them…I can’t wait!

  4. Love those Red-heads! Your mention of the Downeys reminded me that I haven’t seen them around here for months now.

  5. Great birds, Linda! The Flicker and the Redhead are awesome birds. I think the Redhead woodie is my favorite because I do not see it very often. You are very lucky. Great shots.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

