Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Northern Cardinal birds are beautiful and are also nice to listen to.  They have a wonderful melodic whistle call and song.  I think the Cardinals, which many also call “Red birds”,  are super little birds.  The male is bright red and the female is a rusty-brown with the coral wedge-shaped beak.  This pair of Cardinals nest in one of the Oaks in the Oak grove next to the pond here.  I have not seen any young but we have had a really bad spate of hot dry weather here.  I hope we will have a break from the very hot weather and have a bit of rain as well.  I took the pictures from my living room on July 8, 2012.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "A Nice Pair of Northern Cardinals at the Feeder" (8)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    i hope you get some relief, too!

    • Hi TexWisGirl, I’m doing my happy dance because I think it will rain today! We had a few sprinkles earlier when I was doing a bit of spruce-up work at the lake house. Have a super good day today!

  2. Beautiful photos of your Cardinals. I posted a Cardinal today also… SO–we are on the same wave length….

    Bet you are hoping and praying for rain today –like we are!!!!
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, So far, a few wee sprinkles while we did some work at the lake house in the Glade. Here, it does look grey and promising for rain. Hope so for all of us! Have a great day!

  3. I hope you get the rain! It is now hot here too, and very hard on the birds. The water containers that we keep full for them are well used.

    • Hi Montucky, So far today, we have just had a few little puny spits of rain – not enough to even wet the windshield much. Hope we do get a good soaker tonight or tomorrow. Sorry to hear how dry your own area is now. Yes, by all means, it is good to give a water container for the birds. I am thinking of getting a bird bath even though we do have the pond. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

    • Hi Montucky, I spoke a bit too soon, as it just now began to rain! Hooray!

  4. The cardinals are pretty bird, the ones I see are a little camera shy. Great shots. Hope your weather is nice now. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

