Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

New Wood Ducklings Here

The Wood Ducks have been extra busy as of late.  I was quite pleasantly surprised yesterday to stumble upon a new mother hen Wood Duck and her new brood of three precious ducklings here on the pond.  I did not know that Wood Ducks would start families so late in the year, but well, here they are!  I am guessing that these ducklings are about a few days old now.

They are certainly not the same ducklings that I had earlier photographed (those are now learning to fly).  I think that the drakes must be hanging out at the lake down the street.  I have not seen a drake here since May.  I am thrilled to see these new babies and hope they thrive!  I took these photographs in a big hurry so as not to upset the mother duck and her babies.  I took the pictures on July 21, 2012 in my yard.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "New Wood Ducklings Here" (7)

  1. One thing I’ve noticed about ducks is that the Papas don’t seem to help much after the little ones are born… They are not like the Canada Geese –where both parents work together…. Great pictures… Congrats on some more new babies on your pond. You have had an exciting year!!!!

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    so sweet and little. 🙂

  3. Adorable! I want so bad to capture a photo of a wood duck, thanks for sharing! Glad you got to see them, and hope they stick around for a while for you to enjoy longer!

    • Hi Donna, Yes, very adorable! I had not seen any ducks for a few days and then I sort of stumbled onto this little family just at the shoreline. That is how it goes sometimes because of the reeds and rushes where the ducks stay. Have a wonderful Monday tomorrow and thanks for the great comment!

  4. That pond is a great place, for the ducks and those who appreciate them!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

