Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Woodpecker Wednesday

This Red-headed Woodpecker is seen here on his or her usual perch, which is way up high on the top of the electric pole.  In fact, this is now the usual place for me to spot these birds here.  They have not been coming to the bird feeder.  I think there are enough insects around now that the weather has been warmer and more humid.  The woodpeckers mostly enjoy eating insects but do eat nuts seeds and fruit on occasion.  Both genders of the Red-headed Woodpecker look so similar, I cannot tell one from the other.  They are magnificent birds and I am so glad to have several around the yards and general neighborhood.  I took these pictures in my yard on several days, July 17-19, 2012.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photo.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Woodpecker Wednesday" (12)

  1. I’m like you… I cannot tell the male from the female Red-headeds… I usually see one at a time at my feeders —so am never sure if it’s the same one or two different ones… I’m still watching to see their babies….

    Have a good day and stay COOL.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, I am staying inside so I will be cool. I will do outside work and bird watching later when it gets cooler. No rain yesterday but we came close for a short while. It’s OK for now. The birds and wildlife are enjoying the greener landscape around here and so am I. Have a super nice day!

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    i always enjoy seeing your redheads!

  3. This is kind of funny- today we saw an adult coming to our suet feeder. That was a first, since they’ve only used the bath up to this point. It sounds like with your rain you may have more bugs? I am really feeling for the birds here right now struggling to find natural food sources.

    Unlike most of our other woodpeckers, these migrate from Iowa for the winter.. Do yours stay year-round? We will do our second year of Project Feeder Watch. I think that would be so neat if they stayed around long enough for that, which begins mid-November.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, I think that the Red-headed Woodpeckers stick around all year long since we have a pretty mild climate, all things considered. We have lots of mixed hardwood forest here and loads of lakes ponds branch creeks and even a river in this area. Glad you have been seeing your Red-headed Woodpeckers at the suet feeder. I don’t have suet here because I don’t want to encourage “Varmints” of any kind near the house. Have a super great day and a most pleasant Thursday tomorrow!

  4. While on a hike the other day I could hear woodpeckers in several places making a very loud racket, unusually loud, but I could never find them. They made me think of you: maybe you could have spotted them!

    • Hi Montucky, Ha! Maybe so! I just love hearing and seeing these birds in all their kinds. Where I used to live in Southern California, I once saw a woodpecker (I never found out which kind but likely a Western U.S. type). I was hooked! When I moved here to TN and saw many of these birds, well, the rest is this blog (along with inspiration from a genealogist friend with a major league blog). Have a super great Thursday and enjoy your woodpecker listening (and hopeful sighting!!!).

  5. I’ve not seen a Red-Headed Woodpecker in a long time- I grew up seeing them out in the country quite often. I need to find out where they are locally here!

  6. What beautiful birds red-heads are. I’ve only seen them here once, I think. I love the lower left picture – such a long beak!

  7. My bird feeders are very empty right now … with all the berries, bugs and natural seeds out in the woods, they don’t need me. It is nice to know that they truly prefer what it out in the woods … what they can find naturally on their own and that they don’t take the easy route and just sit on a feeder all day. However, I do miss seeing them and hearing them .. the singing is much less this time of year, too.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

