Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

This resident Great Blue Heron and the Canada Geese are smart to stay in the cool shade of this Oak Tree here at the little farm pond.  The birds were on the opposite shoreline from my home.  That area is a cattle pasture owned by the family that also owns and manages the pond.  I just love  watching all the resident and visiting wildlife!  I took these pictures from my yard on July 29, 2012 in the afternoon.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photo.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "The Heron and Geese Stay Cool" (9)

  1. They are like the cows—doing whatever they can to find some shade… I don’t blame them –even though it has been a little cooler this past weekend…. Supposed to get hot and humid again though… Bah! ha
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Yes, I am back to watering the mini fruit orchard with the hose again. Gave up on the veggie garden due to Spiny Amaranth and Deer. Always next year to improve on my gardening techniques. Way different here in TN than in Southern California. Have a super nice day and another great one tomorrow!

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    they are smart to stay in the shade with the green grass. 🙂

    • Hi TexWisGirl, Yes, smart birds do well. The young geese are all over the place here. Those geese are practice flying from my back yard over the house and over the pond (pretty short distance). Funny to see. Like a young kid running everywhere. The herons are here for the good eating and pretty calm atmosphere. Wonderful to watch it all. Have a fabulous day!

  3. Hi, I am playing catch up after being on vacation. I love the heron shots. Looks like the heron enjoys the shade.

    • Hi Eileen, I think by the looks of the heron, that it may still be in molt. In any event, the weather here is hot and humid so the birds, geese, and cows (people too!) love the cool shade. Have a great day tomorrow!

  4. Because of where they live, water birds have it a little easier than other birds when it gets really hot. I’ve also watched eagles sit in the water along the river to cool off too.

  5. Several times I have photographed the resident Canada geese and a Great Blue Heron hanging around together down the road from me, they seem to get along without too much hassle but I’ve noticed they still keep their eyes on each other and try not to walk to close to each other. I’ve always thought it was unusual to see these two bird species together, but now I’ve found you have them too! I love seeing birds that you’d never think would hang around together. Cool!

    • Hi Donna, They seem to get along OK with each other and share the same type of habitat. So glad you get to see and photograph both. Have a super nice day today!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

