Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

The pair of Red-headed Woodpeckers are seldom both out and about at the same time.  Yesterday was one of the rare days when I spied both of this handsome couple out on the electric pole.  They flew back and forth and took turns on the top perch.  It was charming to watch how one took the place of the other.  They were calm and seemed to enjoy the action.  I do know that one of the birds had something in its bill that was likely food.

After observing these woodpeckers for quite a while, I now think that this electric pole is a food pantry cache for the pair of Woodpeckers.  That is, the birds have put bits of the foods they gather in the cracks and crannies of the wooden pole for storage.  I took these pictures yesterday afternoon (7/31/12) in my yard from my front porch.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photograph.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Seeing Double (Woodpecker Wednesday)" (8)

  1. I think this is neat we are sharing the same experience. Our Red-headeds seem to go to the top of the pole most often after they grab our peanuts. Back and forth.. We are wondering if they are storing the food right on top rather than on the sides.

    Our electric company came out in the spring to inspect all the poles. They did not mark this one for immediate take down, so our woodpeckers’ food stash should be good for awhile. Unless the Red-bellieds find it. Oh, there was quite the battle this morning until I put big piles of peanuts in both platforms. Blue Jays were in on it too. What a ruckus!

    Thank you for the great pictures. I am not ever going to get over the beauty of these birds.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, Wow! How exciting for you that you also get to see the Red-headed Woodpeckers and also those lovely Red-bellied’s! Interesting that you are seeing similar behavior in your birds there where you live. Thanks for the great comment! Have a wonderful day today and another nice one tomorrow!

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    very cute. my red-bellies like the top of our electric pole too. i believe the same thing – a food cache, of sorts. 🙂

  3. I love your redhead woodies, I wish you could send one to me. Great shots.

  4. Oh you lucky one, you!!!!!! I still have not seen but one of our Red-headed at a time… AND–since they look alike, I never know which one visits the feeders… Such gorgeous birds.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

  5. Those are probably pretty safe pantries!

  6. Gorgeous photos! I love seeing your red headed woodpeckers.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

