Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

The Northern Mockingbird

A Northern Mockingbird was here on August 4, 2012 in the yards.  It was very entertaining to see this musical noisy bird.  The Mockingbird interacted with the Red-headed Woodpecker as I mentioned in yesterday’s post.  it also perched on the electric line in front of the house for a long time.  It sang many songs reflecting its intelligence and age.  These birds learn to mimic the songs and calls of many birds in their environment.  The Mockingbirds eat insects, seeds, and nuts.  They are smaller medium-sized birds with grey and brown and black coloring.  I don’t see the Northern Mockingbird very often but do enjoy their antics a lot!  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "The Northern Mockingbird" (5)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    i really like these birds, too. 🙂

    • Hi Theresa, I used to see loads of the Mockingbirds in Southern California and also in North East Texas where I once lived. Have an especially nice day today!

  2. I remember them from Arizona but We don’t have them here. I miss them!

    • Hi Montucky, I don’t see the mockers often but when I do, I really have a lot of fun watching them and listening to them. Glad you had some back in AZ to see. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

  3. I love the MOckingbird, they are such fun to hear. We have one in the neighborhood that will go on and on with different sounds. Hope you are having a great week!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

