Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Goldfinch happened to be grabbing a seed from a native plant that was growing on the shoreline of the little farm pond when I snapped its picture.  This is the first Goldfinch I have seen here this year.  The males have a small black patch on their forehead, and the females do not.  This bird is still in breeding color but likely has begun to molt and will be a lighter yellow soon.  The Goldfinches eat seeds and small bits of fruit, berries, and nuts.  They are beautiful small birds.

I had almost given up hope of seeing a Goldfinch here.  My husband had seen one several weeks ago and I was wishing I would spot one as well.  There were a lot of these yellow black and white birds around my former home at the lake, which is about twelve miles from here.  I am just delighted!  I took these pictures yesterday at dusk.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "I Finally Spotted a Goldfinch Here!" (11)

  1. I am thrilled for you. They are a sweet little bird. I hope you see plenty more of them.

    We’re starting to see them frequently again- at our thistle sock, on the sunflowers, at the bluebird nugget feeder (That surprises me because they are exclusively seed eaters) and I put out the white fluff for nesting material. So far I haven’t seen one there, but a female was seen at the suet cage with my hair in it.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, Thanks so much! I was very happy to have spotted this bird! It made my day. Have a wonderful Tuesday tomorrow and thanks for your nice comments!

  2. Oh, I am ashamed of myself. I noticed this last week and didn’t say anything. Thank you so much for linking to my blog. I am honored that you did this.

  3. TexWisGirl said:

    congrats on the sighting!

  4. Congrats, Linda… Maybe some of mine will visit you!!!! I put all of our bird feeders away when we were gone for 5 days (due to the raccoons at night) —so many of my Goldfinches decided to move on. I am happy to share since we have had so many Goldfinches this year.

    Great photos.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, I wonder if some of “your” birds came this-a-way? Hmm…. I hope your birds will return home to your beautiful yards! Have a great day tomorrow and maybe watch the weather tomorrow.

  5. I would think you see the goldie there all year? They are especially pretty birds in the summer. Glad you got to see another one, maybe they are migrating now?

  6. With some good luck and the feeder, maybe it will stay around! I’ve seen very few here this summer and none have visited the house, which is rather strange because we usually have many of them.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

