Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Little Bird Told Me

Actually many little birds told me.  That is, they told me that I need to refill the bird feeder with bird seed.  These tiny birds are just mobbing the feeder.  We fill this feeder every three days and it is not a small feeder.  Not that I mind very much.  I delight in seeing the White-breasted Nuthatches, Carolina Chickadees, House Finches, Northern Cardinals, and Tufted Titmice that are now regulars at the feeder.

I also see one of the Red-headed Woodpeckers at the feeder.  I am no longer seeing any Red-winged Blackbirds or Brown-headed Cowbirds here at the feeder.  One bird that does not eat seed is the Eastern Bluebird.  I am showing a youngster that is just now turning orange and blue.  Bluebirds eat insects and are a wonderful bird to have here.  I took these pictures from my living room window and from the yard on August 28, 2012.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "A Little Bird Told Me" (8)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    oh no! that means the blackbirds and cowbirds are heading my way again!!! they winter here and eat me out of house and home! 🙂

  2. The blackbirds can be real pigs, now your little birds can relax at your feeders. Great shots! Have a great day tomorrow.

  3. Hi Linda, My birds stand outside my window early each morning begging for me to get up and feed them. I usually do!!!!!! They are so special–and I know how hungry they are…

    Do you have Mourning Doves? I have three now—and they love to ‘hog’ the plate feeder!!!!! ha

    Got a tiny bit of rain yesterday finally –about 1/2 an inch. Hope we get more soon…

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, No rain today. We had a tiny shower yesterday with a bit of thunder. I think we may have a little rain tomorrow. Hope it won’t spoil anyone’s holiday plans. Yes, we do have the doves here. Have a fine day tomorrow and thanks for your great comments!

  4. That’s a great shot of the Chickadee! I hope some of our blackbirds will leave for other parts too. I can hardly keep the feeders filled with them around.

  5. Awesome captures! Now that you mention it, I now notice our RW Blackbirds are gone. Yep, it’s time for migration! So exciting to think about photographing what decides to pass our way very soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

