Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Doves

There are a few Mourning Doves that live here in the yards.  I sometimes stumble upon a small group of maybe five or six when I am out walking in my large yard.   They also like to perch on the peak of the roof of my house.  This sometimes reminds me of a few of the homes in Solvang, CA which have a Danish design with a stork carving on the roof.  I like hearing the coos of the various doves here.  These doves eat seeds.  They are too large to eat from the bird feeder and sometimes stand under that feeder to catch the dropped Sunflower Seeds.  I took these pictures in my yard during hte last two weeks.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Doves" (9)

  1. Oh, I really like doves. Will yours stay around all year? Technically, they do in Iowa, but they are now starting to leave our property. I so wish they would stay. We get Mourning and Eurasian Collared. We had quite a few broods of Mourning in our yard, so got to often see their young.

    We made an adjustment with our hopper feeder, so the doves could fit up there. We did have Mourning Doves squeeze into some milk jug feeders we used when we first started feeding the birds. It was a comical sight.

    Very nice pictures. I really like the one with the dove flying over the roof.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, Yes, doves are here all year long. I like the same picture. The doves are lovely. We have both types that you mentioned but mostly see the Mourning Doves. Have a very nice weekend!

  2. Hi Linda, We had ONE —-then TWO—and now FOUR Mourning Doves at our feeders… Think it was Dad, then Mom –and now they’ve added their 2 little ones (since they are a little smaller)….. They love the big plate feeder–since they can sit IN it…. ha

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, I only have a single feeder up. Next year I will have more feeders and will likely have a plate or tray feeder for the larger birds. Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. TexWisGirl said:

    i like these guys, too.

  4. The doves are pretty birds. They have such beautiful eyes. I usually have 3-5 Doves, maybe more in my yard everyday.

  5. I love the doves. Several here visit the feeding place we have for chipmunks and really like the sunflower seeds.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

