Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Starlings

European Starlings have come in big numbers several times this year.  Starlings here feed in the grassy yards and cow pastures.  The neighbor’s pasture across the pond has more than forty acres of open space where the birds can find lots of insects to eat.  They perch in several larger trees both here and across the pond.

European Starlings mostly eat insects as well as several types of grains and seeds.  The European Starlings have slender, sharp bills.  The males are iridescent blue-black with brown areas, and are very attractive birds.  The females are a lighter version of the males.  Although these birds have been in the United States a long time, the European Starlings are natives of Europe.  I took these pictures on September 4, 2012 in my yard.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Starlings" (7)

  1. Ugh…. Hope they don’t visit us… We get them about once a year here–but they don’t stay (thank goodness).. When they do visit, they take over the feeders…

    Have a good weekend and enjoy the rain.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Yes, they gobble up all of the suet in feeders, don’t they? I remember when I had a couple of suet feeders up at the lake house and the suet just disappeared when the European Starlings arrived (and we only had a few starlings there and not hundreds). Have an excellent weekend!

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    we don’t see many of them here. i see more when i am close to town. we do, however, get the blackbirds and grackles in hordes!

    • Hi Theresa, I don’t have any Grackles here at all. In fact, I have not seen any in TN in the three years I have lived here. I can’t say I miss them, though. : )
      Have a wonderful day today and a most pleasant Sunday tomorrow!

  3. Hi All, Off of this topic – It has been raining here and there are now over a hundred Canada Geese out on the little farm pond here. Whew! Lots of migrating geese stopping over in a quieter spot before moving on (at least I hope some will move on). Wildlifewatcher

  4. I do love all the birds, but the starlings a piggies. I am glad they are not in my yard. We just had a thunderstorm and I am happy to see that our electric is still on. I hope you are having a great day.

  5. I have never had them at my feeders. I do see them around occasionally, though.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

