Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

There is a resident flock of Canada Geese here that numbers at about thirty birds,  These divide themselves into a few small groups that come and go between the pond, the cattle pasture on the other side of the pond from my home, and the lake across the road here.

There are lots of small lakes and ponds in this community so there are many places for the geese to roam around at.  They fly in a “V” formation when the large flock moves from place to place other than when just going a short distance.  I am seeing the small group of resident geese that were hatched here in May fairly often.  They like the grass here – instant lawn mow!  Ha!  I took these pictures in my yard on several days in the past month.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Canada Geese Flying, and Grazing" (8)

  1. Hi Linda, I noticed on one of your recent blogs that you have quite a bit of Fall color down your way. We don’t have alot here yet –but maybe after today’s cold spell, the trees will start to turn more.

    The Canada Geese are really comfortable in that area, aren’t they? I haven’t seen too many on the lakes around here lately–but then again, I’m not near the lakes much…

    I did see a Rose-breasted Grosbeak at my feeder yesterday…. Yeah!
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, I am still looking for a Grosbeak. I have never seen any in life. Hope to do so! You are lucky that the Grosbeaks seem to like your neighborhood. Yes, the Canada Geese seem to like our grass and the pond and lake. There is almost no distance to speak of between the pond and lake so it is a perfect spot. Neighbor does not like geese in her lawn, but does not care if they go across the pond to the cattle pasture. Have an especialy nice day tomorrow!

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    i really like the soft pink sky with the geese in flight.

    • Hi Theresa, Yes, the skies were that soft pinkish-orange as it was at sunset. Have a wonderful day tomorrow and thanks for your oh, so nice comments! I do appreciate them.

  3. With the pond, the lake and the pasture, those are pretty spoiled geese! We are seeing quite a few flights of them now, part of the migration I suppose. A different flyway than those in your area take though I think.

    • Hi Montucky, Your area may either be Pacific Flyway or maybe the Mississippi River Valley Flyway or even one that I don’t know the name of. I do know that you appreciate waterfowl and conservation. Have an excellent day today and thanks for your comments here!

  4. I really like the picture of the two in flight. Beautiful. Strangely, we haven’t seen many geese lately. We did see several around our place this spring. I wonder if our drought has something to do with that.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, Yes, maybe so about the drought. I think geese are sensitive to having strong, sweet, tender grasses to eat. Grass and grains are the staples of their diet. Thanks for your insightful comments. I appreciate your ideas and observations. Have a wonderful day today!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

